• History

    The first settler to arrive in the area was the Rev. Francis McCormick, a Revolutionary War soldier with a thousand acre land grant, in 1796. He built his log cabin on the hill at the present 1000 Forest Ave. In 1797 he founded the first Methodist Class in the Northwest Territory. The Village of Milford More Info

    more info
  • Promont

    Promont is a Victorian mansion circa 1865 and the former home of John M. Pattison, Ohio’s 43rd Governor. It is currently owned and operated by the Greater Milford Area Historical Society. The museum features period furnishings, a reference library, changing exhibits, and a gift shop. Docent-led or self-guided tours are available the second Saturday and More Info

    more info
  • Research/Library

    The Leonard L. Harding, Jr. Library serves as a limited access historical library featuring information on Clermont County and the Greater Milford area.

    more info
  • Teas/Weddings

    PROMONT Teas and Boutique Event Venue Visit www.promonthouse.com for more info and photo tour of the house and grounds.         Located in beautiful historic Milford, Promont was built circa 1865 as a lovely example of Victorian Italianate architecture in its entire splendor.  The mansion is steeped in old world elegance, period furnishings and More Info

    more info
  • Gift Shop

    Shop and browse our unique Victorian Gift Shop, stocked with treasures for all ages and budgets

    more info


Contact Us

314679_10150368089800806_1789331751_nOur Museum Administrator is Donna Amann. Please contact Donna by telephone at the Museum, 513-248-0324 or by email at damann@milfordhistory.net. Museum office hours are Wednesday through Friday, 9 AM to 4 PM.



One month notice is required for bookings. Minimum of 10 and maximum of 35 guests.





Mary Ann Benoski
Tea Coordinator

Gift Shop

Our Gift Shop is open during museum hours, Saturday – Sunday, 1:30 to 4:30 and by appointment.





Tracy Lanham
Gift Shop Manager


Limited hours for visitation are currently on Mondays from 10:00 AM until 4:30 PM or by arrangement.

Kathy McCurdy

Other Contacts
Sue Grone, education –  sgrone@fuse.net
Diana Kuhnell, acquisitions coordinator – dimouse@fuse.net
Jo Ann Weigel, newsletter editor - jaweigel18@gmail.com

GMAHS Officers and Board Members

Nancy Meyer, president (2017) - pedro70470@aol.com
Jo Ann Weigel, vice president (2017) - jaweigel18@gmail.com
Ken Waeber, secretary (2015) – ken.waeber@stress.com
Dick Nordloh, president and treasurer (2016) - ldjjs@fuse.net

Mary Ann Benoski (2016) – mbenoski@fuse.net
Charles Board (2016) – cboard@cinci.rr.com
Scott Dunn (2015) – sdunn@sibcycline.com
Tim Jeffries (2015) – tjeffries1@mac.com
Gwen Walden (2017) larsenwalden@gmail.com


Written by milfordhistory

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply